Golf News


Tyla Winter made it back to back wins in the Taranaki Women’s Strokeplay Championships with victory at Te Ngutu Golf Club last Sunday. The teenager took full advantage of playing on her home course shooting rounds of 79-77-156 to win the title by a single stroke from Westown golfer Rochelle Keegan 80-77-156, with Svala Garner 77-86-163 and Kaye-Maree Mihaljevich 82-81-163 tied 3rd. Mihaljevich had the best net 141 with New Plymouth  15 handicapper Sejin Jung 74-70-144 2nd. The Bronze division was played over 18 holes with Te Ngutu’s Christine Johnson 89 making it a Te Ngutu double by winning the gross 1 stroke ahead of Patea’s Verna Bourke 90.  Kathrin Mahony 96-29-67 was 1st net.


Also on Sunday 8 teams competed for the Forman Trophy at Manukorihi. The host club which entered 2 teams dominated proceedings with Manukorihi 1 beating Manukorihi 2 to claim the Trophy. The six man team of Darren Lewis, Bryan Bellamy, Kevin Southee, Ivor Sartan, Allan Ross   & Richard Hamel produced an aggregate net total of 848 to beat their number 2 side by 9 strokes. The team also recorded the best gross total 944, with New Plymouth next best on 953. Inglewood’s Kerry Otene once again confirmed his standing as Taranaki’s leading amateur golfer with the best individual performance. Otene shot 68-70-138 to finish 6 under par 8 strokes ahead of New Plymouth’s Monte Burmester. The Nicklejohn trophy awarded to the best net performance went to Ivor Sarten 76-7-69, 73-7-66 -135. Full details of the results are available on the Taranaki Golf Website




This weekend is the 1st round of the Men’s handicap pennant competition. This year though teams will play a fourball match concurrently with the singles matches. Whilst the format may initially cause teams some confusion, it is a format that has been used successfully in other districts for a number of years including neighbours Manawatu-Wanganui. Once again the teams are split into 2 sections Taranaki Wide and North Taranaki. Following the decision by Taranaki Golf to remove foursomes from pennant matches last year, the competition will once again be played over 18 holes. The Taranaki Wide section is at Patea with 12 teams from 11 clubs competing in two divisions including the current holders Te Ngutu 1 who get defence underway against Hawera. The hosts Patea take on Kaitake, who have a team in each section this year, with Waitara who are also competing in the Taranaki wide section up against Inglewood 2. In division 1, Eltham play Pungarehu with Manaia v Waverley and Te Ngutu 2 v Fitzroy 2 rounding out the draw. The North Taranaki section has only 8 teams in it split into 2 divisions of 4. To give teams a full schedule of matches, they will play each team in their own division and 2 cross over ties in rounds 4 and 5. The opening round is at Westown, with Westown playing Manukorihi 2 and Manukorihi 1 v New Plymouth the other match in division 1. Division 2 clashes are Kaitake v Tumahu and Inglewood 1 v Fitzroy 1. 




Relative Club: