McCallum on Golf

New Plymouth professional Dominic Barson (72-65-73-66-276) was the best of the Taranaki players competing at the Charles Tour Carrus Open which was played at the Tauranga Golf Club last weekend. Barson shot a four under total for the 72 hole event to finish tied for 6th while New Plymouth amateur Brad Hayward (71-68-73-70-282) finished 18th equal overall and 5th equal in the amateur men’s section. Taranaki’s leading women amateur Holly Winter (82-71-80-76-309) shot the women’s low round of the tournament with a one under par 71 in the second round. The 15 year old finished 9th in the women’s division. The other Taranaki player in the event, New Plymouth professional Patrick Moore (78-82-160) failed to make the 36 hole cut-off which was at 146, six over par.

Taranaki team mates Joseph Doyle and Brook Gray fought out the Tumahu senior men’s matchplay final recently. Gray shot a four under par round of 66 to lead 2up after 18 holes but Doyle rattled home with a five under par 65 in the afternoon to clinch the title 4/3. In the intermediate division Peter Smyth edged out 16 year old Joe Brophy 1 up while in the junior division 78 year old Rex Bridgeman used all his experience to beat Dennis Gilbert on the 38th hole. The limit division also went to sudden death withy Noel Sharpe beating Dion Nichols on the 37th.

The Stratford Golf Club men’s matchplay champions have been determined for 2013. In the senior men’s final, Tony Cawley shot a one under par round of 70 in the opening round to lead Grant Kite 11up at the midway point of the 36 hole final. Cawley then closed out the title with a winning margin of 13/12 to claim his 19th Stratford senior title. In the intermediate final, Club Captain Colin Caskey was one up over Brad Gibbons after 18 holes but Gibbons came back strongly to win 5/4. In the junior division Carl Christie led all the way to beat Chris Merson 5/4 in the 36 hole final.

A field of 62 players including nine women competed in the Taranaki Seniors September monthly tournament at the Fitzroy Golf Club. The winners of the men’s monthly button was Ross Cleaver (Te Ngutu) with 41 stableford points while the women’s button was won by Gwen Norris (Fitzroy) with 36 points. The Kauri Cup for the best 36 hole men’s stableford score from the Kaitake and Fitzroy meetings was won by John Hymers from Urenui with 72 points while the women’s Secretarys Trophy went to Marion Bayertz from Fitzroy with 61 points. Other leading scores from Fitzroy were: Women-Marion Baeyertz, Fitzroy,Debbie Volzke, Stratford, 32,   Min  Copplestone, Urenui,  32;Senior men-Duncan Elliott,  Urenui. 36,  Gerard Keegan, Westown, 36,  Don Weston, New Plymouth, 34, John Stewart, Fitzroy, 34; Intermediate-Paul Macleod, Te Ngutu. 39, Ron Klenner, New Plymouth, 36.  Ken Green, Urenui. 36; Junior-Buster Smale, Westown, 36.  Colin Wheeler,  Stratford,36, Lewis Ramsdale. Urenui. 35.    

Relative Club: