McCallum on Golf

Fifteen year old Fletcher Broderick will make his debut for the Taranaki senior men’s golf team this weekend. The NPBHS student will play at number eight in the Central North Island quadrangular tournament at the Taupo Golf Club against Bay of Plenty, Eastlands and Manawatu-Wanganui. Taranaki selector John Newland has retained the top seven players from the recent Northern Quadrangular. The team in playing order, is Brad Hayward, Jamie Reid, Tim White, Tyla Otene, Kerry Otene, Sam Jone, Zach Lewis and Fletcher Broderick. The four strong under 19 boys team competing at the same event is, in playing order: Ben Joseph, Jarron Pittams, Daniel White and Ethan Jones.

The Taranaki men’s masters team will compete in the national interprovincial championship at the Coringa Golf Club in Christchurch starting next Monday. Taranaki’s draw is: Monday am versus Tasman; pm versus Bay of Plenty; Tuesday am versus Auckland, pm versus North Harbour; Wednesday am versus Wellington; Thursday pm versus Otago; Friday am versus Manawatu –Wanganui, pm versus Hawkes Bay. The five strong Taranaki side,in playing order is Aarun Langton, Murray Martin, Tony Hardy, Brian Rowland and Dean Baldock.

A field of 50 pairs competed in the Taranaki Pairs championship at the Inglewood Golf Club over Labour weekend. The Opunake pairing of Aarun Langton and Troy Forsyth dominated the 36 hole event recording gross scores of 59 and 60 to be 17 under par for the 36 hole event and recording the best overall net score of 113.7, with the Inglewood duo of Steve and Geoff Otene (7.3 handicap) second on 114.3.

The Taranaki women’s golf team finished in fourth place at the Dunes quadrangular tournament played at the Te Awamutu Golf Club. After holding hosts Waikato to a four all draw, the eight strong side suffered a 7-1 loss to Auckland and a 6-2 loss to Bay of Plenty in the final round. For Taranaki, Holly Winter (no 2), Rochelle Keegan (no 4) and Patricia Bouvet (no 7) all recoreded two wins.

Taranaki representative Tim White retained his Hawera Golf Club senior men’s matchplay title with a 3/2 win over fellow Taranaki representative Sam Jones. In the women’s senior final up and comer Tineka Kumeroa came from behind after 18 holes to beat Raewyn Symes 5/4. Other winners were Mark Ropiha who beat Arnold Lloyd to claim the intermediate title while Karl Frost had a comfortable win over Grant Cambie to claim the junior title. The closest matchl of the day was the intermediate women’s final which went the full 36 holes with Esther White beating Lynne Franks on the last hole. In the junior women’s final Anne Mitchell beat Jan Bigham on the 19th while the respective limit titles went to Graeme Yaxley and Judith Mainwaring.

Former Taranaki women’s golf selector Anne Stewart (Westown) is the 2013 Taranaki women’s nine hole champion of champions. Stewart edged out Yvonne Coxhead (Kaitake) and Jan Conlin (Urenui) by a single shot in the final at Kaitake last week. A total of 34 players participated in a nine hole tournament held in conjunction with the champion of champions event. Thelma White (Kaitake) won division one with Raewyn Bishop (Kaitake) runner-up while division two was won by Lynne Kelmartin (Fitzroy) who edged out clubmate Lois Ingles on a countback.

Relative Club: