McCallum on Golf

Murray Martin (60) has retained his place in the New Zealand Seniors (55 and over) team to defend the Sanctuary Cove Trophy against Australia next month. Martin was a member of the New Zealand team who beat Australia in the annual event which was played at Sanctuary Cove last November. The matchplay format event will be played at the Muriwai Golf Club on 18-19th February. The event will be preceded by the New Zealand Seniors Strokeplay championship which will be played at the Omaha Golf Club from 13-15 February. The other members of the 12 strong NZ Seniors team are: Michael Baltrop, Mike Leitch, Arthur Parkin, Tony Treen (Auckland), Frank Borren, Rodney Baltrop (Wellington), John Batley, Phil Hunter , Andrew McKechnie (Waikato), John Sanders (Canterbury) and Kevin Billington (Northland).


Hamilton golfer Matthew Morris made a clean sweep of the Taranaki Golf three day events with a win in the South Taranaki 54 hole tournament over the new year period. The scratch handicapper shot a three under par total to win the Mitre 10 Mega North Taranaki 54 hole event late last year and backed it up with an even par total in the South Taranaki event to complete the double. Morris shot rounds of 73 at Manaia (two over par), 72 at Te Ngutu (one over par) and a final round of three under par 69 at Hawera.  Jamie Clarges (63-65-66-194) won the senior men’s net while Drew Rennie took out the best stableford with 122 points. The best gross in the intermediate division went to Mark Morris (81-88-83-254) with Shaun Kalin (64-70-70-204) taking out the best net and Joshua Morris the best stableford with 117 points. The best net in the junior division went to Te Ngutu’s Tom O’Connor (60-63-74-197) with Robin Bloor (89-87-90-266) winning the best gross and Murray Armstrong the best stableford with 121 points. Taranaki representative Celeste McLean (79-76-74-229) won the best women’s gross with Jenni Newland (73-69-74-216) from Patea the best net in the senior women’s division and Michele Furness the best stableford with 110 points. In the junior women’s division, Fiona Taylor (63-62-63-188) took out the best net with Lynne Frank recording the best gross score of 288 and Tui Steele the best stableford with 112 points.


A field of 90 players competed in the Taranaki Golf Centre summer open tournament. The best stableford in the senior men’s division went to Mark Whitaker with 41 points with Stefan Campbell and Ken Jurd on 40 points and Larry Wilson and Mike Earley on 38. The junior men’s division was won by Graeme Milne with 43 points followed by Mike Bracken on 42, Ron Hampersad 41 and Wayne Humphreys and Mark Eichstaedt on 40. The leading score in the women’s division was Judith Maaka with 39 points, with Ann Braithwaite on 38 and Sheryl Stanners on 37 points.


The Waitara Golf Club will host the annual Crowded House Bar & Café 18 hole open tournament on Sunday. The popular event features  gross, net and stableford prizes plus a large number of spot prizes including a lucky draw for a 42” television for all participants present at the prize giving.


Relative Club: