McCallum on Golf

A field of 80 players teed it up in the Tag Oil Egmont Championship at the Stratford Golf Club on Sunday. The 36 hole men’s championship was won by Sam Jones (76-72-148) from Manaia who defeated Opunake’s Aarun Langton (77-71-148) with a birdie on the first hole of a sudden death play-off. Tim White (75-74-149) finished in third place while Jamie Reid (79-73-152), Joseph Doyle (76-77-153) and Kerry Otene (81-72-153) rounded out the top six. The women’s title went to Holly Winter (76-77-153) who finished seven shots ahead of Celeste McLean (81-79-160). The best men’s 36 hole net was won by Craig Walton (143) who edged out Daniel White (144) by a shot. The best women’s net went to Carol Chard (146) with Tyla Winter second on 150. In the 18 hole tournament run in conjunction with the championship Michael Taylor and John Cusdin both recorded a net 66 while Debbie Volzke had the best women’s stableford with 37 points.

Several thousand dollars’ worth of prizes attracted 129 golfers to the Young, Carrington and Ussher sponsored open tournament at the Waitara Golf Club on Sunday. Waitara’s Shane Grylls recorded the best gross score with a two over par round of 69 while Ron Donghi (75-11-64) from Inglewood had the best net score in the senior men’s division. The best net in the intermediate division went to Bruce Taylor (77-13-64) with Daniel Hanscombe (80-15-65) one shot behind. In the junior division, Peter Cullen came out on top with 40 stableford points while Rhonda McFarlane (102 -31-71) won the women’s best net and Maree Van Praagh the best stableford with 32 points.

The 2013 Manukorihi Golf Club Strokeplay champions were completed recently. The senior men’s division was won by Carey Hobbs (71-72-70-75-288), the intermediate title went to Richard Hamel (77-84-83-78-322), the junior division was won by Don Bowers (93-90-98-89-370) and the limit division was won by Graeme Parsons (97-96-95-100-388). The women’s Bronze One division was won by Jo Foreman, the Bronze Two division went to Kath Alvis and the Bronze Three division was shared by Carol Allen and Robyn Chamberlain. The nine hole champion for 2013 is Bev Hall.

Well done mate! Murray Martin (74-74-74-222) showed his class last week when he won the Australian Seniors amateur Strokeplay championship played at the Royal Queensland Golf Club, a notable addition to the New Zealand Seniors title he won at New Plymouth two years ago.

Relative Club: