McCallum on Golf

The Taranaki men’s golf representative schedule gets under way this weekend with a 10 strong side competing in the Shand Cup quadrangular event at the Paraparaumu Beach Links course. The Taranaki side will be led by the in form Brad Hayward with matches against Manawatu-Wanganui, Hawkes Bay and hosts Wellington. The other team members in playing order are: Jamie Reid (Fitzroy), Kerry Otene (Inglewood), Tyla Otene (Westown), Tim White (Hawera), Sam Jones (Manaia), Zach Lewis (New Plymouth), Joseph Doye (Tumahu), Brook Gray (Tumahu) and Des Wilcox (Westown).

New Plymouth’s Fletcher Broderick will lead the four strong Taranaki under 19 boys’ team to play in the Shand Salver at the Paraparaumu Beach Links course this weekend. The other team members in playing order are: Ben Joseph (Inglewood), Daniel White (Hawera) and Ethan Jones (Manaia).

Taranaki women’s selectors Robyn Robins and Trisf Stewart have made a number of changes to the seven strong Taranak women’s team to compete in the Sybil Green quadrangular at the Paraparaumu Beach Links course this weekend. Manaia’s Celeste McLean has been promoted to the number one position while club mate Holly Winter drops to number three. 13 year old Vanessa Bouvet moves to number two while Rochelle Keegan and Carol Chard round out the top five. Joanne McDonald retains her place in the team at number six while Patricia Bouvet is the newcomer to the team at number seven.

New Plymouth professional Grant Moorhead (71-73-144) shot an even par total in the $20,000 Telecom Business Hub Pro-am played at The Grange Golf Club in Auckland last week to finish 9th equal. Fellow New Plymouth professionals Dominic Barson (71-77-148) and Blake Cowley (74-74-148) finished 19th equal in the 36 hole event which was won by Martin Pettigrew (70-68-138).

The Taranaki men’s masters golf team beat Manawatu-Wanganui 10-6 in a 36 hole clash at Te Ngutu on Sunday. The eight strong Taranaki side led 5-3 after 18 holes with Aarun Langton, Tony Hardy and Dean Baldock all recording two wins for Taranaki. The five strong Taranaki team to play the national Freyberg Masters interprovincial tournament at the Coringa Golf Club in Christchurch from 4-8 November, in playing order is: Aarun Langton (Opunake), Murray Martin (New Plymouth), Tony Hardy (Westown), Brian Rowland (Fitzroy) and Dean Baldock (Westown)

30 teams competed in the John Garner Bonaza golf tournament at the Manukorihi Golf Club on Sunday. The Waitara New World sponsored three person ambrose event was won by Jamie and Dennis Reid and Paul Martin. The trio shot a gross score of 61 (11 under par) for a net score of 57.84, with the team of Don Armstrong, Bernie Ropiha and Rob Paterson second on 58.5.

Relative Club: