McCallum on Golf

The annual Roger Rei Memorial golf tournament will be played at the Patea Golf Club tomorrow. The tournament, which is the 13th anniversary of the 18 hole event has attracted a field of over 150 golfers with post entries still available (phone Ray Finlay 06 273 8335). The tournament is open to men and women, with gross, net and stableford prizes. A feature of the event is a $500 prize for the best overall gross score with local professionals Dominic Barson and Craig Owen up against Taranaki’s leading amateurs Aarun Langton, Murray Martin and Tim White and Hamilton golfer Matthew Morris.


10 club teams will vie for the Foreman Trophy at the Manukorihi Golf Club on Sunday. The Cash Converters sponsored event is a 36 hole net competition for six man teams with all individual scores counting towards the team total. Defending champions Westown will compete against teams from Tumahu, Kaitake, Waitara, Urenui, New Plymouth, Fitzroy (2) and hosts Manukorihi (2).


New Plymouth amateur Brad Hayward (75-71-75-75-296) shot an eight over par totat to finish in a tie for 44th position in the Lake Macquarie Amateur. The 72 hole championship was played at the par 72 Belmont Golf Club in Sydney and finished on Sunday with Englishman Ryan Evans (70-69-74-68-281) taking  out the title. Waikato golfer, Luke Toomey (73-69-71-70-283) finished tied for second with Australian Jarryd Felion (68-70-75-70-283) while the Australian amateur champion Tae Koh (65-77-74-69-285) from Auckland finished in fifth position. Hayward will compete in the New South Wales Amateur championship starting today before returning home.


New Plymouth Golf Club member Craig McDonald scored his first hole in one last week. Playing in the Pak Centre Business House golf competition at New Plymouth last Tuesday night the 14 handicapper used a five iron to hole out on the 166 metre par three 12th hole.


 133 golfers competed in the annual Crowded House Bar & Café tournament played at the Waitara Golf Club. The best overall gross score was recorded by Damien Powell from Manukorihi, who shot a two under par round of 65. Prominent horse trainer John Wheeler (75-16-59) recorded the best net in the intermediate division while Patea‘s Ray Finlay took out the best stableford with 40 points. In the junior division Willy Wilson (79-21-58) from Inglewood took out the best net and Phil Schroder from Urenui the best stableford with 43 points. In the women’s division Rhonda McFarlane from Waitara (94-28-66) won the best net while club mate Sharlene Ward had the best stableford. The lucky draw for a 50”LED television went to Brian Erikson from Waitara.


Relative Club: