McCallum on Golf

The second round of the Dow AgroSciences men’s handicap pennant competition will be played on Sunday, with the North divisions playing at Kaitake and the Taranaki wide division in action at Te Ngutu. The feature matches in the North competition see Fitzroy One against Inglewood (Division One) and hosts Kaitake One versus Westown One (Division Two). In the Taranaki wide division one, defending champions Waverley face neighbours Patea, while Pungarehu face a tough assignment against Te Ngutu Two on their home course.


Dominic Barson (69-73-69-70-281) was the best of the Taranaki players competing in the Lawnmaster Classic played at the Manawatu Golf Club last week. The New Plymouth professional shot a seven under par total for the 72 hole event to finish in fifth position, four shots behind tournament winner Doug Holloway. Taranaki’s top amateur, Brad Hayward (74-74-73-70-291) finished 20th equal, one shot ahead of New Plymouth professional Grant Moorhead (72-75-75-70-292) who finished in a tie for 22nd. Taranaki women representatives Celeste Mclean (87-77-164) and Holly Winter (89-84-173) both failed to make the 36 hole cut.


New Plymouth golfer Murray Martin (75-74-75-224) finished 14th = at the New Zealand Seniors (55 and over) Strokeplay Championship which was played at the Omaha Beach Golf Club last week. The 54 hole event was won by Michael Baltrop (71-71-71-213) who shot an even par total to edge out Samuel Christie (70-70-74-214) from Australia with a further shot back to Brent Paterson (72-70-73-215) from Auckland and Stuart Duff (73-69-73-215) from Hawkes Bay.


Westown Classic champion Kerry Otene recently won the Coastal Strokeplay Championship, 63 years after his grandfather Heck won the inaugural event in 1951. A feature of the 27 hole event played at the Pungarehu Golf Club was a hole in one scored by Paul Haskell from The Golf Zone. Haskell, who also sponsors the Pungarehu Golf Club used a nine iron to hole out on the 145 metre par three 6th hole. Major winners of the Coastal Championships were: Senior men – Gross- Kerry Otene 102; Intermediate Gross –Allen Rothwell 116; Junior Gross- Chad Knowles 125; Limit Gross- Graham Gardner 129; Women- Senior Gross-Sharon Adamson 123; Junior Gross- Susan Crowley 144.


Relative Club: