Taranaki Golf News

The Waimate Plains Championship takes place at Manaia this Sunday. This is the second Crowded House Taranaki Tour event of the year. At the time of writing this article only a few of the provinces leading golfers have been confirmed as starters. It is hoped that there will be an influx of late entries –a typical Taranaki trait-so that this long standing event receives the support it deserves
New Plymouth Craig Owen finished in a tie for 17th place at the NZ Senior PGA Championships held at Wairakei last weekend. Owen carded a 14 over par 230 (75, 80, 75), 13 shots behind the eventual winner, Rodger Davies who won a sudden death playoff against fellow Australian Peter Fowler.


 The New Zealand Strokeplay Championship was won in convincing style by Waikato golfer Luke Toomey he shot four sub 70 rounds (69, 69, 68, 69). New Plymouth Brad Hayward showed a lot of character to bounce back from an opening round 78 to shoot a one under par 71 to make the cut for the weekend. Hayward shot two 73s for a 295 to finish in a tie for 35th place. New Plymouth’s Zach Lewis (78, 75) failed to make the cut.  In the Women’s Event Manaia’s Celeste McLean (75, 80, 75, 75) and Fitzroy’s Holly Winter (80, 75, 73, 77) carded 9 over par 305’s for a share of 17th place. Holly’s younger sister Tyla (Te Ngutu) finished 38th with rounds of (78, 81, 81, 85) 326. 

Last Sunday’s Vanburwray Taranaki 5000 played at Patea saw some excellent scoring in the Taranaki golf development fundraiser. Five golfers shot below par rounds in great scoring conditions. Opunake’s Aarun Langton shot a five under par 68 to win the overall gross from Inglewood’s Ben Joseph who also shot 68 on count back. A shot Further back was New Plymouth’s Murray Martin, with Patea’s John Newland 70 and Troy Forsyth Opunake 71 rounding out low scoring fest.


Other Leading Scores in the tournament were; Best overall net Rick Caskey 75-11-64. Best Women’s Net Ev Gibbs 85-18-67. Senior Net Ben Joseph 68-3-65 Intermediate Net Mike Taikato 83-17-66 Junior Net Mark Fever 93-26-67. Best Overall Stableford went to John Newland 45 points , Senior Troy  Forsyth 42, Intermediate Gerald Rutten 40 , Junior Chad Chadwick 42 and Women’s Kathy Faiers 41.

Brook Gray is this year’s Senior Strokeplay champion at New Plymouth. Gray (292) beat Murray Martin (297) to take out the title.  The Intermediate division was won by Stephen Bowden (320) ahead of Richard Pepperell (331) The Junior title Mark Kenning (339)  beat Jeff Plant (345) The Limits went to David Knowles (385) over Max Carroll (406).
Results from last week’s Bruce McCallum Memorial Tournament at Te Ngutu were as follows:
Best Overall Gross - Aarun Langton (73), Best Overall Net - Peter Fake (63) ,Best Net by a Te Ngutu player - Richard Johnson (67) Stableford  Senior Men - John Newland (37),Intermediate Men - Lloyd Bell (39), Junior Men - Robert Park (39), Ladies - Christine Johnson (35

Relative Club: