Golf News


Making the cut for this year’s Augusta Funds Management Ngamotu Classic has been made a little easier for competitors with the news that the cut for the Charles tour event has been increased from 50 to 60 plus ties. Last year both professional and amateur golfers felt a cut of 50 was too severe especially considering the overall fields in recent years have been less than 100 with a number of these golfers being young amateurs and having an additional 10 or so golfers playing the final 2 days was unlikely to create any issues. Entries for this year’s event already stand at over a 100 with 35 of these professionals.


This year’s Top Club competition has been won by Inglewood. Played in drizzly conditions at the Manukorihi Golf Club last Sunday, the team of Peter Joseph 37, Chris Van Kooten 38, John Christini 40 and Jill Evans 30 scored an aggregate total of 145 points, to hold off the Westown team of Roy Grant 38, Ken Sykes 36, Brian Venables 38, Kim Lucas 32 -144, Manaia finished in 3rd place with 140 points and hosts Manukorihi 138 finished 4th. It was somewhat disappointing that there were only 8 clubs represented at this year’s competition, which seems to be indicative of lack of support many events in the province have experienced.


Taranaki will have a team at next week’s Boys Interprovincial for the first time in over 10 years. A team of 4 under19’s and 3 under16’s will compete at Cambridge against 11 other provinces. The side will be led by Monte Burmester with Josh Morris, Matthew Allan and Max Shearer the other under19 players, with Blake Symes Louis Baldock and Josh Elder the three under 16’s. Whilst it is unlikely the team will be able to mount any realistic challenge for honours, it will be an excellent opportunity for the boys to gauge where they are in relation to their peers across the country and to build on that in the future.


The Men’s and Women’s teams for next week’s Shand Cup and Sybil Green played between Taranaki. Hawkes Bay, Manawatu/Wanganui and Wellington have been named. The Men’s team in playing order: Andrew Searle – New Plymouth, Joseph Doyle – Tumahu, Ben Joseph – Inglewood, Monte Burmester – New Plymouth, Brook Gray – Tumahu, Josh Morris – Te Ngutu, Zach Lewis – New Plymouth and Dan Armstrong – Tumahu. The Women’s team in playing order: Celeste McLean – Manukorihi, Joanne McDonald- New Plymouth, Rochelle Keegan – Westown, Kaye Marie Mihaljevich – Te Ngutu, Tineka Kumeroa – Hawera, Debbie McCallum – Te Ngutu , Tyla Winter – Te Ngutu and Chris Wilson – Inglewood. One of the changes to this year’s quadrangular has been the removal of the Boys competition – as all 4 provinces will be sending teams to the Boy’s Interprovincial – and the introduction of a 6 man Master’s team instead. This will give the teams some invaluable competition before November’s Freyberg Masters.  John Newland is yet to name his team with a couple of spots still up for grabs.


Men’s No 1 Andrew Searle warmed up for the Shand Cup with a solid performance at last week’s Bay of Plenty Open played at the Whakatane Golf Club. Searle shot a 5 over par 285 with rounds of 68-71-72-74 to finish in 5th place 7 strokes behind the eventual winner, Muriwai’s Mark Hutson.


Relative Club: